Saturday, June 23, 2007
DVD Fun...
My mom got us a DVD player for Christmas awhile back, and we've used it off and on. Appearantly they're pretty cheap now, but the DVDs are still more expensive to rent than the VHSs. As everyone knows, DVDs are cram-packed with all sorts of wonderful and useless things. Director's commentary, commercials (you can now pay to see the comercials), edited-out scenes (like... two... and they're both edited out for a damn good reason... they suck), and other stuff. Anyhoo, we were watching Legally Blonde, and although the movie itself wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, I was rather perplexed by some of the director's commentary. I mean, I'll be perfectly honest with you here... I only watched the first two minutes of the director's commentary. All it was was this skinny guy with a Van Dyke talking with a fake ('cultured') British accent going on and on and on about the "entage" and the "turning point" of the movie. He was going on like it was fucking Shakespeare! I mean, come on! How much can you say about a scene containing nothing but a casual dialouge between two minor-characters."Well, you see here, this breif dialogue acctually sets the mood for the entire scene by foreshadowing the coming setbacks of the main character who is just about to enter the hall as we speak. As you can see, I chose to have both the minor characters be brunettes, so as to set a contrast between them and the main character... sort of a whole good vs. evil panarama in which to entice the viewing eye into focusing more on the backdrop. For the backdrop, I chose a row of lockers superimposed with a sort of Munk-esque spathering of motivational posters."It was sort of like he noticed that this stuff was just there when he watched the movie in the editing room, and he thought up some huge excuse for it so as to appear artsy. Of course, who is more foolish... the fool who babbles on about a stupid movie, or the fool who watches him?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
have you ever taken a film class? Directors think they're all fucking Orson Welles, even if they're making low-grade comedy piece of shit that won't be remembered after a year or two.Comedies are especially hard to direct if the director isn't funny him/herself, even if there's a funny script.
Post a Comment