Sunday, August 26, 2007
Philosophile
It seems to me that quite a bit of people are lost in this sort of perverted illusion about finding the ultimate reality. Some people even devote their entire lives to finding said truth, and waste away quietly with their hands locked in a rigormortis prayer. It's sort of disgusting, if you think about it, but amusing at the same time. For some odd reason, people arn't satisfied with whatever they have, and want more. Don't think that the mystic is any more virtuous than the consumerist. They both want differant things, but they are both driven by the same urge, the same underlying message of "what you have is not good enough."So... why do we do this? I think the answer is quite simple. We are creatures of desire. Without want, we would not get. Without get, we would not survive. Ergo, the ones who want are the ones who survive. But what about the world of today, in which everybody's basic needs are met? The answer is simple... make stuff up. Imagine Maslow's Heiarchy of Needs... now, take everything above the "basic survival requirements" and cross it out. Now write "fabricated" next to it. Beautiful, eh? My point is... just because our desires are met does not mean our desires go away. We just found a nice place to shove all of our angst and called it a "higher power." By doing this, we kill two birds with one stone... 1. A place for our desires, and 2. A nice little boost of our ego.
Thursday, August 23, 2007
My newest conclusion...
The livejournal community is composed almost exclusively of assholes.Of course it makes sense. What is the primary purpose of this thing? To sit here and blab on about yourself and your little problems, as well as your insignificant little thoughts. Some of us are under the illusion that we can share things here, but we are mistaken. The comment button is only put there to sort of utilize the internet, although I've yet to meet anyone who acctually wants a comment that might make them think.
Sunday, August 19, 2007
Yay!
Congratulations! You are the most evil man of all time! Not only did you exterminate millions of Jews and involved the world in the biggest war the world has ever seen, you also convinced the Germans that the perfect human is a tall blue eyed blond when you're a short, dark Austrian yourself! Well done you spiteful little shit!What tin-pot dictator are you? Take the "What Dictator am I?" test at PoisonedMinds.com
Thursday, August 16, 2007
Spring Break!!
Whew. It's about damn time.We had a half-day today, but they tacked a liturgy at the end of it. Made me damn antsy. It was about the death of Jesus, and they sort of panamimed Jesus' supposed death-trip, from carrying the cross and taking three face-plants, to getting nailed to it and whimpering. Very inspirational. At the end, they said that we "should all be thankful for the pain this man suffered and what he sacraficed, so you may all benefit." They said they were leaving on a high note, but that doesn't sound very damn high to me! I mean, it's like saying, "look at how this man suffered and was torchured and killed!! ...and it's all because of you!" Very inspirational.I think I'm beggining to dislike Christianity. I mean, more so than usual.
Tuesday, August 14, 2007
Saturday, August 11, 2007
Delivery!!
I got my copy of Bomberman Hero in the mail today! It was the first thing I ever got from Ebay... and only for $10.00, too! It's a pretty fun game, and I'm glad I bought it. Plus, it's always nice to get a package in the mail....Now I just have to wait till Bomberman 64 arrives.
I taste of D...
I taste of Death.Doesn't everyone want a taste of death? Well they should. Most people deserve death. Keep away from me unless you think you're better than that. I probably won't like you. What Flavour Are You?
Thursday, August 9, 2007
This should have been yesterday...
I should have posted this yesterday, but late is better than never. Little background for y'all... I go to a Catholic school, and am an Atheist. Normally they're cool with it, and although I go to their liturgies, they don't make me take communion or pray or whatnot. As long as I stand while they pray, it's fine.However... yesterday, we had this thing called a reconciliation ceremony in which we were supposed to be forgiven for our sins. Personally, I don't feel evil and worthless whenever I'm attracted to a girl or hope someone will die, but if that's what these people believe, then whatever. We got to miss 3rd period for it, so it was cool by me.Okay, so we were praying and whatnot and reading this pamphlet they hand out with "Things to Reflect Upon." A few of the things said something to the effect of "Do I honor my sexuality by dressing modestly?" and "Do I avoid sexually arousing situations?" Those gave me a chuckle, but I wasn't bothered. So we were going through these things of praying and thinking and suddenly the priest says (in his droney cult-voice) "Now... let us all kneel."Kneel? KNEEL!? What the hell? I've never had to kneel before at this school? Should I kneel? My brain was whizzing around as all these people beside and in front of me dropped down to their knees like dominos. Ooooh, boy. So... I'm thinking that 1. I just drop down and *pretend* to honor their invisible sky-fairy, 2. Drop down and just sit there, Indian-style while I avoid detection, or 3. Sit there with my ass on the chair whilst everyone prays. I opted out of option #1 because it violates my principles to humble myself before a figment of someone's imagination and because it would be disrespectful if I were to just patronize their faith by pretending to "go through the motions" like that. Now... there were about 3 seconds for me to choose between 2 and 3. Everyone else was already down and the priest was waiting patiently to begin his prayer....I gulped and chose option number 3. I needed to at least stand up for my beliefs, let people know that not everyone will just bow and pray... maybe get them thinking a bit. I needed to do this without making a huge fuss or being horribly rude. Now that I look back on it, I realize that everybody would just think, "Stupid punk!" nomatter what I did outside of kneeling... but please understand that this thought was crammed in with the others in that short 3 second box. This wasn't something I planned.So anyways, there I was, sitting on my chair while everyone else knelt on the floor. It was far more humiliating that I had thought. There I was, bucking a trend by myself, without any other people to back me up. I'm not entirely certain that I was the only one, but my eyes were forced directly in front of me, pushed their into space by necessity. I wasn't about to go glancing about and risk people thinking things that I didn't need them to think. I didn't want to give the impression that I was a rebellious punk who was looking around to see if anybody noticed and what their reactions were. And what about the priest? They always seem to take it personally when you don't show any sign of belief.Well, fortunately it was over, but the icky feeling stuck until the entire thing was done, and then some. We went up and received the "laying on of hands," something ancient perverted clergy came up with when they wanted to feel people's hair, I guess. Anyways, we bowed our head and the priest touched it. For me, he sort of pressed his hands into my skull and said, "God *loves* you..." in his droney voice, and he held it there for a good 10 seconds! I'm sure he did that for everyone... but jeez!Ach! Well, anyways... this thing came to an end and we waltzed back into our classroom. I'm not certain if there was anybody behind me that refused to kneel, but if there was, I hope that they were comforted just a bit by seeing another like them.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)