Wednesday, July 18, 2007
Tuesday, July 17, 2007
I finished Harvest Moon!!
Yup. That's right, folks. I have finally completed that game. I was cranking in the cash, my wife loved me by 999 points (and a few others were up there, too... but hush hush), all my cows loved me, and I *almost* had another kid! The second kid didn't get born, though. Although s/he did show up in the ending sequence. It's too damn bad you can't make the little brats help out around the farm. I could've made so much more cash. Oh, well.In other news, my little sister has decided to use the internet from 4 (when we come home) till about 10 (when I usually go to bed). So, I am afraid my internet usage will be drasticly cut unless mother doesn't lay the smack down on her soon. I think I'll go egg her on right now....
Thursday, July 12, 2007
Maybe things arn't so bad...
I feel pretty good, for once. I mean, my residual crappy feeling is still there, but perhaps everything isn't quite hopeless. Sure, I'm ugly and stupid and an utter failure at everything I do... but at least I have a few things to make me happy. Tommarrow I'll go out and get some thumbtacks and foamcore board so I can start on that game I've been working on since 8th grade. The new addition will be a hell of a lot better. I should probibly type up the rules, too... rather than rely on a few scratches in my notebook. I need 360 thumbtacks total, and a few other differant kinds... wish me luck!
Saturday, July 7, 2007
Actual Boardroom Dialogue (English Translation)
Mister Takizashi: Our company seems to be falling behind, according to these charts. Our sales in these prefectures are doing poorly. Perhaps we should move our operations to the US.Board Members: Ah-zo!Mister Takizashi: According to our intelligence department, there is nothing that these Americans enjoy more than making asses of themselves. We need a product that can fully exploit this...Toro: Uh... Mister Takizashi-san...Mister Takizashi: Yes, insolent fool?Toro: Please forgive me for abusing your delicate ears with my abrasive voice, but I have an idea.Mister Takizashi: You may speak, simpleton.Toro: A thousand thank-yous for your blessings, my mighty but humble employer! What if we could make a machine that could make these stupid-but-corpulent Americans dance around like happy little schoolgirls prior to a vigorous raping by a horrible tenticle monster?Board Members: Ah-zo!Mister Takizashi: Normally I would execute you for having an idea of your own, but your foolishness amuses me. Please, go on, honorable desk-lacky.Toro: Thank you, my liege. What we would do is have the machine dictate the footsteps *for* the Americans, because they are too lazy to make up on their own... it would also amuse us to see them being manipulated like a schoolgirl in the grasp of a horrible tenticle monster!Mister Takizashi: I like this idea much. But what should we call it?Toro: Well, my honorable employer, we must look at this logically. It will make them dance around... and us Japanese know that products become more applealing through aliteration, plus Americans are always found of disloyalty and chaos. I give you honorable sirs... Dance Dance Revolution(tm)!Board Members: Ah-zo!Mister Takizashi: Exellent... we shall soon have the pocketbook of American youths in our grasp... just like a schoolgirl in the grasp of a horrible tenticle monster! Make it so!Toro: Yes, most humble C.E.O.. Please forgive me for not making all of them while you speak!
Friday, July 6, 2007
Compensation
Recently, on a message board, the issue of compensation for slavery came up. The arguement put forward was basically that, since us white folk mistreated black folk so much in the past, we should pay them now to get them back on their feet. Let me just say outright that I am violently opposed to the idea.First off, I am assuming that the money would come from the government. Demanding money from the descendents of slaveholders would not only be grotesquely unjust, but fruitless as well, since most of them have deteriorated into trailer trash by now. An irksome part of this is that they would be taking money from the same government I put my money into, and all of my ancestors came here well after the whole slavery thing was settled. I have not profited from slavery in the slightest. Of course, nomatter who my ancestors were, no white people today have gained anything directly from slavery! Why should we be the one's to pay?Some of you might be saying (I can here you from here, I really can) that while nobody today has benifited *directly*, we do in fact benifit a great deal indirectly. Well, guess what? Tough shit. I bet each and every one of us has benifited indirectly from just about everything. My last name happens to be Brunsman (or, de-Anglisized, "Brunsmann"). That means that my forebears were the servants and vassals of the Brunnen dynasty of Dukes in 10th century Saxony. Do I march up to anyone with a last name of "Brunnen" or "Bruno" and demand that they compensate me for my families hardships under their rule? Hell no!! This is a fact of life, but it is impossible to right/avenge/compensate for every wrong that has ever happened. I believe it was Gandhi who said, "An eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind."Now I think I hear some of you saying that while I may not have gained anything from slavery, I am still part of a group that oppressed Africans. Again, to that I say "big deal." How about Arabs and other Africans (who are still in Africa) apologize for trading them to us in the first place? How about Mongolia apologize for crushing Asia and eastern Europe? How about Italy apologize to every European nation for the Roman Empire? How about the Moorish people apologize to Spain for trying to conquor them? None of this is going to happen, and do you know why? Because the people who did it are dead!Transfering blame from one century to the next is an act of pure ignorance, and with that mentality, one can only perpectuate hatred.
Thursday, July 5, 2007
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)